top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Look Fantastic September- The Birthday Edit!

It’s Look Fantastic time again! It always comes around so quickly! It arrives at the beginning of the month, meaning that you start the month off with an array of new products to try!

This month is their 4th Birthday edit, and the box itself is beautiful too! A mixture of different pastel pinks, blues, yellows, oranges and purples with the word ‘Birthday’ written diagonally in a white font, with the I being made to look like a candle and flame! Very clever design, these boxes are the only ones I actually keep out of all the boxes I receive, as the designs are always stunning.

I expected a really good edit for their birthday month, and although it wasn’t as amazing as I had hoped, it was still far better than the previous couple of months. All the brands include were high end, taking the RRP right up! It also always comes with a complimentary copy of Elle magazine, and their very own box magazine, which always has product info, makeup tips or other beauty related articles.

So, the first item I pulled out was the one I knew about, as it had been the spoiler at the back of the magazine in last month’s box. Eve Lom cleanser and a muslin cloth to accompany it! This is said to help regenerate your skin like never before. It is multi award winning, all purpose and suitable for all skin types. It is described as being an exfoliating cleanser that decongests, softens and removes even stubborn waterproof makeup. It has a balm like texture, which will make it lovely and luxurious to apply. The muslin cloth can be used to remove the product after being gently soaked in warm water. Unfortunately, Eve Lom test on animals (where required by law), so i cannot use this, as it is not cruelty free.

The second item is from another brand that I have heard of but have not yet had the pleasure of trying- the Philip Kingsley Elasticizer. This is a pre shampoo treatment for your hair that smooths each strand for incredible levels of silkiness, as well as improving the suppleness of your hair, the stretchability, strength and shine. It does all of this whilst leaving your hair soft, less brittle, lustrous and beautifully manageable. I cannot find any information about their cruelty free status, so i will look into this further before using it.

The third brand is one I am very familiar with, having tried a couple of their products in the past- I am a huge fan! They are a Hungarian brand called Omorovicza and I received their Ultramoor Mud Mask in the box. I hope you will know by now how addicted to face masks I am, so this product is absolutely perfect for me! It detoxes, cleanses and revives the skin, whilst purifying, energising and defining the contours of your face. It contains a range of anti-ageing benefits which help to hydrate and protect skin, lifting and brightening the complexion in the process! Definitely a must try!

The fourth item in this birthday box is the Mane and Tail Hand and Nail Therapy. I have heard of this brand, and I know they have been featured in past editions of Look Fantastic but this will be the first time I am trying them! I have already used this, as my hands can get quite dry, and I found it to be very fast absorbing and non-greasy, despite the thick texture. You can also use this on your feet, which I think I will try next! It targets dry, cracked skin, strengthens and protects nails and leaves them strong and healthy. My skin definitely felt smoother and more rejuvenated after using!

The fifth item I pulled out was from a brand I have used a few products by before, namely an eyeliner and a brow pencil (which I love to bits!). Lord and Berry Strobing Pencil. I will be honest here and say that my makeup skills are mediocre at best, I tend to wear the same things everyday and very rarely experiment (however I would like to!), so it is safe to say I have never in my life used a strobing pencil before! However, I am not one to shy away from a challenge and that is part of the reason I love subscription boxes- the element of trying something new and stepping out of your comfort zone! This pencil adds a subtle glow to the skin, as it is a lovely pink shade. It helps to create a radiant glow and is multifunctional, meaning you can use it on your cheekbones (like a highlighter), brow bones, cupids bow or wherever you like! You could try it on your collarbone for some subtle shimmer and definition!

The last item is from a brand I have heard of (again) but not tried anything from them. Aromatherapy Associates Revive Morning Bath and Shower Oil. There were two different options, the other being a Lavender and Peppermint, but I am glad I got this version as I am not the biggest fan of lavender. This is an indulgent and luxurious bath or shower oil to help make your mornings better and allow you to experience a moment of peace and tranquillity to experience the powers of aromatherapy in the comfort of your own home. This can be added to bath water, massaged into your skin in the shower or simply smelled for an instant pick me up! I am a big fan of aromatherapy and believe that scent can invoke a lot of memories and emotions, so I am looking forward to giving this a go!

So this month’s edit was the Birthday Edit and I have to say, it is a vast improvement on the last couple of months. We are getting towards THAT time of year again (how did that happen?), and I am hoping for some amazing boxes in the lead up to that day beginning with C! I think a lot of boxes start to up their game at this time of year, as subscriptions or one off/special edition

boxes make the perfect gift, or even a pick me up after the party season is over! Stay tuned for more reviews soon!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page