top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Look Fantastic November 2018- Dark Wonder Edit.

Can you believe it is November already?! Look Fantastic always drops at the beginning of the month, so I knew it was on it's way. I have been quite happy with the last couple of months, so I was pretty optimistic about this month, especially as it is getting close to Christmas.

I have to say, I was slightly disappointed with this months box, mainly as there are items in there that I won't use.

The first item was Baked Gelato Swirl Illuminator in Gilded Honey, by Laura Geller. A brand I have heard of, but never tried before. It helps to enhance your natural glow. It is a baked highlighter that feels like a cream and applies like a powder. It is a lovely golden colour that gives you a naturally radiant and luminous glow. I did notice, however, that on the bottom of this item, it stated 'Sample-Not for Sale'. I do think this is a bit cheeky, as it is clearly not a full size item and has been sent in a beauty box that is supposed to be about making a saving on the items inside- which is not the case here.

The second item was Evercalm Global Protection Day Cream by Ren. I have used a rescue mask by this brand before and I did like it, so this is one item I am quite pleased with. This is said to help soothe and protect the skin from environmental pollutants, training it to be less sensitive and fighting damage caused by aggressors and free radicals in the environment around us.

The third item was something that I cannot use, as I do not have a bath in my flat- Dark Wonder Bath Bomb by Bubble T. It is a limited edition fragrance, with Acai Berry and Hibiscus infusion to stimulate the senses. It helps you to feel rejuvenated and refreshed, as well as giving you soft and hydrated skin. I may have to ask my mum if I can use her bath to try this out, as it does sound lush, and I can smell it's amazing scent through the packaging!

The fourth item was the Precision Pen Eyeliner by Mellow Cosmetics. I never use eyeliner, it doesn't suit me and I am always really put off when boxes have them in seemingly every other box- it feels like an easy 'throw in' option with no real thought behind it. I am disappointed to get yet another eyeliner in a box, when they only featured one a couple of months ago. A bit more variety please! This eyeliner is said to be long lasting and allows you create thin or thick lines in one sweep, in a super black formula.

The fifth item is another that I will use- Papaya Enzyme Peel by Elemis. A very well known brand and one that I have used before, this is a gentle exfoliator that smooths and brightens the complexion by dissolving dead skin cells, even on sensitive skin. It also provides anti oxidants and protection from free radicals. It contains seaweed actives and Vitamin E to leave you with smooth, moisturised and remineralised skin.

The sixth and final item was Matte Liquid Lipstick by Contour Cosmetics. I have never heard of this brand, the same as Mellow, and I didn't feel all that impressed on first glance- the packaging just didn't wow me. I will reserve judgement until I have tried the product, of course, but it is said to be long lasting, kiss proof and a pretty nude pink shade, perfect for everyday wear. It has a soft finish and is none drying, as well as being highly pigmented. The packaging is a rose gold colour, which I am usually a fan of, but for some reason, this just isn't grabbing me!

So, the verdict then?

I feel like this is a bit of an anticlimax after the last couple of boxes, which were quite good. I do feel a bit let down and like I haven't received the value I have paid for. Yes, there are a couple of higher end brands in there, a few products I will use and a couple of new brand discoveries, but I just didn't get that excited feeling you get on opening a box of treats to see what lies beneath the packaging- which is why we buy these things- it just felt lacklustre!

I have a year subscription to this box, so am with them until April. If they don't turn it around by then, I don't think I will be renewing!

I very much hope that next months edit is better, especially being the month of Christmas! I have seen a sneak peek and it has got me a little excited, but we will see what the rest of the items are!

Come on Look Fantastic, you used to be so good, the one everyone else aspired to be like- bring that back please!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page