top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Look Fantastic May- The Urban Beauty Edit.

Those of you who follow this blog regularly (a huge, huge thank you to all of you who have supported me on this blogging journey!) will know that Look Fantastic is a box that I have been getting for a while now- just over a year, in fact! It has been hit and miss, with some absolutely amazing months (March, I’m looking at you!) and some terrible months (November, for example). Of course, this is all down to objective opinion, and what I like, others might not and vice versa.

One thing I do like about this box is the box itself- they are always gorgeous and one of the few I religiously keep every month. I am starting to run out of places to keep them now! I also like the fact that it comes with a little Beauty Box magazine with loads of beauty and make up features and a free copy of Elle magazine. Whilst I am not the biggest fan of that particular title, I think it adds a little something extra to the box and makes it stand out from the rest.

This month’s edit is titled the Urban Beauty edit, which contains all you need to keep you skin and make up fresh to survive spring in the city. It sounds promising, and I was excited to see what they would include, as I am hugely concerned about the effects pollution can have on my skin and hair. So here is what is included this month:

The first item was Northern Light Cream by Polaar (RRP £17.50). I am familiar with this brand, having tried a couple of their products before. I have always thought they were ok, not my favourite but I am not averse to them by any means. This product is a soothing cream that harnesses the powers of Siberian Olive Tree, which is rich in 108 bioactive elements and Vitamin C, to reveal a radiant and flawless complexion. It has anti-oxidant properties to protect the skin from the impact of pollution, as well as polar berry extracts to encourage cell regeneration. This cream suits all skin types, but is better used as a night cream for oilier complexions. Information about the cruelty free status of this product is mixed and confusing, so i will do some more research before using this.

The second item was Gel Lip Pencil by Mellow in the shade Aria (RRP £10.50). This brand is another I am familiar with, I have a couple of their products and think they are pretty good quality for the price of them. This a soft and natural nude gel that glides on effortlessly for a long lasting, rich, matte finish. This can be taken and applied on the go and gives a perfect transfer proof, creamy base for lipstick, or to colour in lips for a subtler look. I do wear a lot of lippy, so this will come in handy as I do find lip liners help to prevent feathering and the nude colour means it will work for most shades too.

The third item is Invigo Nutri-Enrich Deep Nourishing Mask by Wella (RRP £2.78). Another well-known brand that I am familiar with. This helps to breathe life into dry and damaged hair. It deeply conditions the hair with a blend of Vitamin E, which helps to hydrate, protect hair from further damage and frizz and leaving it revitalised and vibrant. I love hair masks- having such long hair can mean that the ends can sometimes become a little dry, so products like this are perfect to bring it back to its former glory!

The fourth item was 8 Hour Anti-Oxidising and Retexturing Hyaluronic Facial Serum from Avant Skincare (RRP £89!). This is another brand I am familiar with, and have used before. I am going to be honest- I wasn’t a huge fan of the products I have tried in the past, especially not for the price they cost, but I am always happy to be proved wrong! This is an intensive serum that helps to protect skin against external aggressors at the same time as addressing signs of ageing. It is hydrating, meaning it nourishes skin from within, it combats imperfections and leaves skin moisturised and radiant. It contains Hyaluronic Acid, a beauty buzzword right now, to help moisturise and plump the complexion. Lipoic Acid has anti-oxidant properties to help improve the texture of the skin and strengthen the skins barrier. This can be used instead of a moisturiser if you have oily skin. I am yet to try this, as I am already using a serum and I am one of those people that likes to use up a product before opening another. The claims it makes are bold and I am looking forward to seeing if it lives up to them (and the price tag!). This is another brand that is raved about a lot on social media too.

The fifth item was 3 In 1 Gradual Tan Lotion from Minetan (RRP £5.99). I have never heard of this brand, so a new discovery for me. This gives skin a gorgeous glow with its gentle and non-sticky formula, as it builds up to a natural and glowing colour. It is rich in naturally derived tanning agents, multivitamins and Aloe Vera to moisturise, soothe dry skin and extend the length of the tan. I never have much luck with gradual tanning lotions, I find them streaky and odd smelling too. I will always give things a go though- maybe this will be the right one for me?

The sixth item was Rose Illuminating Glow Hydrogel Eye Pads from Skin Chemists (RRP £6.99). I have a couple of products from this brand and have seen a lot available at TK Maxx too, and have always found them decent enough. These hydrate and refresh the delicate skin under the eyes as they are enriched with Hyaluronic Acid and powerful anti-oxidants that work to lift, tone and brighten the under eye area to help you look wide awake. These are perfect for tired eyes or to treat fine lines and wrinkles around the eye, which is usually one of the first places to show signs of ageing. I do suffer from dark under eye circles and so I am conscious to try and look after my eyes to prevent them from getting worse, and to try and help lighten them up a bit. I will definitely be giving these a go to see if they help!

So, that is all the items- what is my verdict? I will be honest; I was a little underwhelmed when I saw it- I felt they had such potential for an amazing box but had fallen a little flat. It felt like there was something missing. Now I have had time to think (and writing this review has helped too), I cannot fault the value of this box- I pay £13 per month and one of the items is worth £89 on its own! I am not a huge fan of the brands or items included. They just didn’t excite me the way some have in the past. It is not their worst box by any means, but it is also far from their best.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page