top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

My Happy Place June 2020 unboxing

I have a new box to introduce to you all today- although if you know me from Boxession, you will remember me reviewing this box twice already over there!

This box is called My Happy Place Box and aims to take you on a virtual journey to a different destination every month, teaching you about their culture and rituals when it comes to self care and me time! I think this is an amazing concept and something we could all use- especially right now! I thoroughly enjoyed reviewing both the Brazil and the India boxes last year and have been following their virtual travels via instagram ever since.

I saw a post on their instagram page a few weeks ago, announcing the destination for the month of June and as soon as I saw it, I knew I had to have it- the destination is my absolute favourite place on earth, my genuine happy place: Australia!

I decided to try something new, as I have been considering this for a while and finally took the plunge to start a YouTube channel related to this blog- you can see my first ever unboxing video on there via this link:

The first thing I noticed about this box is the personalised message inside from Catherine, the founder and chief happiness officer! It reads:

'Dear Gemma,

Welcome to My Happy Place Box!

This box is all about discovering a very young country where the world's oldest surviving civilisation lives. This wonderful country is Australia.

You will discover the rituals and wisdoms of a great civilisation, the Aboriginals. Some of their ideas are truly inspiring. So you will need to learn about them and adapt them to your life to create your own happiness.

Open the box, when you have some quiet time by yourself, as this is ME TIME and you know you totally deserve it. We love hearing about your happy experiences opening your box and using the items we have carefully chosen for you. Share your happiness by posting your photos and videos on Facebook or on Instagram by tagging them with #myhappyplacebox

May you find your happy place,

Catherine'

This personal touch means a lot in the box world!

Another thing I love about this box is that it comes with a full colour magazine all about the country and their rituals, plus information about the items and how to use them- very unique!

The first item was too big for the box- but is an item that is synonymous with the country of Australia and with the aboriginal culture- a boomerang! This one is a blue plastic one with tribal print on it, however traditional ones are typically made of wood and will rotate and spin back to it's point of origin- the law of cause and effect. Some people also call it Karma, whatever you send out into life comes back to you in one way or another. I love that this was included- and there is some information about the boomerang principle in the magazine, which makes for an interesting read.

The next item is a Tea Tree Soap by The Australian Country Life, made in Australia too of course. This freshens and invigorates the skin. It contains tea tree oil, which is known for it's antiseptic properties. Concentrated Tea Tree Oil is distilled from the leaf of the Australian Melaleuca Alternifolia tree. This soap has a unique spicy aroma and leaves your skin feeling fresh. It also has a kangaroo on the packaging- because what else?

The next item is really interesting- a bracelet with a unique cage design and several little balls you can put inside that cage- there was a little note advising to put a couple of drops of essential oil onto one of the little balls before you put it in the cage so you can carry the scent around with you- on the go aromatherapy! It is an adjustable bracelet too, so will fit anyone! I love it, it is definitely original and nothing like anything I already own.

The next item leads on from this- contained inside a really cute little box designed to look like a suitcase were 2 10ml bottles of essential oils- one of Tea Tree and one of Eucalyptus. Tea Tree is ideal for use in soothing and healing many ailments from acne to fungal nails. Aboriginal people have used Tea Tree for centuries to treat coughs, colds, fever and headaches with its medicinal properties. It also has antiseptic properties and has been used to apply to wounds as a paste and also as a tea for throat ailments. Eucalyptus leaves can be infused for body pains and fevers and chills. Today the oil is used commercially in mouthwash, throat lozenges and cough suppressants. Aboriginals used several species of Eucalyptus as tonics for gastro intenstinal symptoms and again, it has antispetic and astringent properties to make it effective in treating wounds like cuts and sores. I love essential oils and aromatherapy- I could use these with the bracelet above!

The next item was a notebook with the phrase Dream it, Believe it, Achieve it on the front. This is a nod to the movie and book 'The Secret' by Australian author Rhonda Byrne. It is based on the Law Of Attraction- that our thoughts can change a persons life directly using visualisation and gratitude to get results. I have this book but have not gotten around to reading it yet- but when I do, I will use the notebook to complete the tasks!

The last item is arguably the cutest of the lot- a agate and koala keyring. The Koala actually has a clip so you can detach it from the agate keyring if you wanted to. I am sure you could attach it to any other keyring you wanted as well- although I think I would be scared to lose this little guy!

The box cost me £30 and there are plenty of past boxes on there to purchase too- although don't blame me if you end up buying the lot!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page