top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Birchbox July 2020- The Fruity Beauty Edit

A box I wasn't expecting, but one I will bring to you anyway! July's Birchbox arrived a few days ago- I didn't cancel the payment in time so they sent this one out again. The theme this month is Fruity Beauty and as always, the box is so cute! I unboxed it on my new Youtube channel, you can watch it here:

As mentioned on the last post, with Birchbox, there is usually at least one opportunity for customisation of your box- be that choosing a particular shade of one of the items or picking between 2 different items from the same brand. Last month, you could choose from a cleanser or an exfoliating peel. This month, as I didn't know I would be getting it, I didn't get to pick my item but luckily for me, they chose the one I would have picked anyway! Then there are usually one or two items that are included in every box, or a variation of a certain item. The remaining items can vary from person to person based on their beauty profile that is filled out on signing up.

So the items this month are as follows:

The first one was the item that you could customise, this time you could pick the shade you wanted from a choice of 2. Dr Paw Paw Multipurpose Balm in either Hot Pink or Rich Mocha- I got Hot Pink. This has an RRP of £6.95 for the full size- this one was travel sized. I have some of the original balm in the yellow tube and I really like it, as you can use it for absolutely anything! This has all the benefits of the original balm formula, with a hint of colour. It is super hydrating and adds a pretty pop of colour to the lips and cheeks. It is the perfect size to slip into your handbag or pocket for on the go use too! This brand is cruelty free too.

The second item was one that is included in every box- Ciate London Watermelon Burst Hydrating Primer, with an RRP of £24 for the full size. This is infused with watermelon and is a unique aqua serum to grip foundation for long wear and added glow. It contains witch hazel extract, niacinamide, vitamin e and hyaluronic acid to brighten and refine pores whilst the watermelon extract droplets combat dehydration. Plus, as it is water based, it smooths the skin without the use of silicones! Ciate are also cruelty free! I am yet to try this, as primer is not something I wear every day (mainly due to time constraints!) but I am looking forward to giving it a go, as it sounds really good!

The third item was also something that is included in every box, but there are 3 variants of it this month, so you may get a different one. The one I got is the Beautypro Coconut Sheet Mask with an RRP of £4.95. This is a full size item. This is a calming, nourishing and luxurious sheet mask infused with coconut. It also has Vitamin E and essential Amino Acids to lock in moisture for a fresh and dewy glow. Coconut has anti- bacterial and anti-inflammatory benefits as well as helping to repair the skin's natural barrier. I love a good sheet mask, I have far too many of them but one more won't hurt! This is also cruelty free and I cannot wait to use it.

The fourth item is one that may be different in your box, depending on your beauty profile. I got Polaar Sun Lotion SPF 50+, which has an RRP £20.20 for a full size. This has a velvety formula that offers high UVA and UVB protection, fights sunburn and premature ageing too. It is water resistant, light and non greasy, meaning it applies easy and is suitable for sensitive and sunburn prone skin. It is also perfume free, which means it is less likely to irritate the skin. I cannot find out any information about the cruelty free status of this brand, so I won't use this until I can find out for sure, but it's a great idea for a summer box, as sun protection is so important- even when the sun isn't out!

The fifth item is again one that may be different in your box and is the only item I am disappointed with due to it not being cruelty free. It is Klorane Nourishing Shampoo with Mango Butter, with an RRP of £8 for the full size item. This is mango infused, and it really does smell lovely. It nourishes and protects the hair shaft without weighing it down. The detangling formula helps to improve softness and shine as well as being free from parabens and silicone for healthy strands. I have to say, I am not a fan of receiving just a shampoo or conditioner in a box, I like to get both together so I can give them a proper trial. This is of course personal preference though! I won't be using this due to it not being cruelty free.

If you want to purchase your own, visit their website- they also have their own shop where you can re-purchase any items you have taken a liking to! I have cancelled for now (definitely this time!) but I will be sure to keep an eye out for their future boxes and purchase again if I like the look of!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page