top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

You First Presale Box Review- August 2020

I'm really excited to bring this review to you as it is a brand new box and I am one of the first bloggers to get my hands on it!

I was contacted by them on Instagram (follow me over there @the_gl_edit) asking if I would like to review one of their 5 presale boxes- of course I jumped at the chance!

You First offer a self care subscription service packed with items to help you make time to put yourself first, especially when you have had a tough week. I unboxed this on my Youtube channel, which you can find here:

As you can see from the unboxing, it was absolutely packed full! It also contained an extra item that was only included in the first 5 boxes!

The first thing that caught my attention was the cute handwritten note thanking me and reminding me to put myself first, which I thought was lovely. The personal touch goes far with me! There was also a little business card with all their social handles and website (check them out here).

The first item I pulled out was an affirmation card with the phrase ‘Killing It’ on it, by a small business called MB Prints. I love things like this- I have a few of them pinned to my fridge so I can see them at the times when I need them most, so this has been added to that collection. I think they are a great pick me up!

I then took out a cute pink silk hair scrunchie. I have a lot of hair and I tend to find that the thinner hair bands and bobbles don’t really stay in my hair for very long, so the thicker ones are better for my hair. I haven’t ever tried a silk scrunchie before but I feel like it may be similar to a silk pillowcase where it doesn’t leave any kinks or marks in the hair so I am looking forward to using this! I may use it while I exercise to give it the ultimate test!

The next 2 items were by the same company, Wish Strings Co, and are absolutely adorable! The first one was a Miniature Keepsake Token in the shape of a 4 leaf clover, which is said to bring luck. It also reminds me of Ireland, which is a beautiful country I have been fortunate to visit a couple of times. The second was a beautiful bracelet with a star charm on it. The description says that you are supposed to make a wish and then tie a knot in the bracelet and then when the thread wears thin and breaks, your wish will come true. Such a unique and cute idea and they would make great gifts too!

I could smell something amazing when I opened the box and soon realised that it was coming from a small wax melt snap block from a company called Canoodles. The scent was Flowers and Skateboards, which, I am informed, is a dupe of Dior’s Black Opium fragrance. It smells so beautiful, I cannot wait to burn this once my current wax melt is used up. But for now, it looks super pretty in my stash!

The next few items were edible- something I am never going to complain about!

The first edible item was from a well known chocolate brand, Willie’s Cacao. I have tried a few of their products in the past and always found them really tasty. This was a chocolate orange bar and unfortunately for me, I cannot stand anything orange flavoured. However, all is not lost as my brother and mum love it! It is a really good sized bar and I am excited that I get to share bits of this box, and self care, with my loved ones!

The next edible item was the little extra item for the first 5 boxes. They were some luxury Milk Marc De Champagne Truffles from Charbonnel and Walker. I am actually teetotal, so I won’t be eating these, but my lovely friend and fellow Boxession blogger Nazia loves them, so these will be heading down to her after the bank holiday for her to indulge herself. There are 3 truffles in the little heart shaped box and the pictures I have seen of them look amazing too!

I was so excited to see the next item- a Lotus Biscoff biscuit! I absolutely love these biscuits and they are perfect to have with a hot drink (more on that later!). It was a snack pack containing one biscuit and my only complaint is that there weren’t more! This did not last long past the pictures being taken!

Another edible item I was excited to see was a sweet little pack of Love Hearts sweets- who doesn’t love these? I used to have them all the time as a child and this takes me back to those memories of using my pocket money to buy sweets at the local corner shop when I was younger. They are just as yummy now too- plus, I love the little pick me up messages they have on them!

I was really spoiled with food items and this brand is one I have never tried before! Brodericks Double Chocolate Brownie. I love brownies and this is the perfect size for an on the go snack! They are an irish company and use Belgian chocolate to make an indulgent snack!

Hershey’s are an American brand who have made their way over here in the last few years. I actually first tried them when I was in Hawaii and I loved them, so I was excited to see this snack sized Cookies and Cream bar was included! Cookies and Cream is one of my favourite flavours and this was wolfed down in seconds- delicious!

The final edible item got me excited again as I love these sweets! Candy Kittens Tropical Mango sweets are vegan friendly, gluten free and absolutely moreish! This was a flavour I hadn’t tried but I absolutely loved them, as I thought I would!

I also received a Teapigs Marrakesh Mint green tea bag, which is shaped like a pyramid and is completely biodegradable too. I am not usually the biggest fan of mint when it is strong, as it can make me sneeze, but peppermint tends to be ok. I have a digestive illness and have found mint to be really helpful when it comes to settling down my digestive system and the cramps, so I will be saving this for when I next have a flare up!

I am a big fan of hot chocolate so I was really happy to see a huge sachet of Clipper Hot Chocolate included. I have tried a few teas by Clipper before but have never tried their hot chocolate, so I was really excited to make myself a creamy mug. It did not disappoint- the flavour was so smooth and calming, I absolutely loved it!

The final item was a bamboo sheet mask- you all know how much I love those! This was a brand I had never heard of, Masked Beauty, and was made using Coconut Water, Vegetable Hyaluronic Acid and Cactus Extract to target dry skin and provide moisture and nourishment. It is suitable for sensitive skin and is biodegradable too. I used this after a particularly stressful day and I found it so relaxing- plus my skin looked plump and fresh afterwards too!

I absolutely loved this box- I love the importance on self care and taking that time just for you. Our mental health is just as important as our physical health and we need to make sure we take the time to nourish ourselves! I think that is priceless! The boxes cost £17 for a regular box or £21.99 for the premium, which is what I have here! Check out the links above to get in on the action!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page