top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Look Fantastic 2020 Advent Calendar SPOILERS!

It’s that time of the year where beauty advent calendars start to make an appearance (I know, where has this year gone?). You may remember last year, I purchased a couple of them and one of the ones I went for was Look Fantastic. I was a subscriber to the monthly beauty box at the time and am not anymore, but I really liked last years offering so when I saw the reveal for this year, I couldn’t resist taking a peek!

As I have a new Youtube channel now, I thought I would do something a little different and do a spoiler reveal video complete with my thoughts on each selection and if they are Cruelty Free or not! You can catch that video here:

I also thought I would do a bit of a write up with links to each product individually and a little about them too.

The calendar available now on presale and is officially released on the 12th October. If you subscribe to their beauty box service, the box will cost you £70 and if you aren’t a subscriber it will cost you £85. When you consider that the contents are worth a whopping £460, I think that is an absolute bargain!

I am not sure if this order is the order they appear in the calendar, it is just the order they were listed- and it could be different for everyone anyway!

The first item that was listed was a full size This Works Deep Sleep Body Cream. I am a big fan of the deep sleep pillow spray and so I am hoping that this will be the same. The scent isn’t at all overpowering (despite the lavender) and helps you to relax and drift off to sleep. This brand is Cruelty Free.

Next up is a brand I have never tried before- 3INA Cream Eyeshadow 313, which is also full size. This is a really nice bronze colour, which will suit most skin tones and eye colours. I do like eyeshadow- not everyday, but it is nice for a special occasion or if I just want to get glammed up. I will be interested to see what the pigmentation is like and with it being a cream shadow, if it creases! They are also Cruelty Free.

Third is Rodial Dragons Blood Cleansing Water 100ml. I really like Rodial- I think a lip mask of theirs was in last year’s calendar. I have tried a few items from them before, their bee venom cleansing balm and the aforementioned lip mask so this another welcome addition for me. I am always in need of cleanser, for me it is an essential item that I use everyday and as my skin can be sensitive at times, I find the cleansing waters to be much more gentle when that happens. Another cruelty free items!

Another brand I am a fan of now- ESPA Balancing Moisturiser, which is full size. I have tried a few of their body products before- a body butter and a body oil and I was a big fan, so I have no doubt that this will be just as good. I am assuming it is a facial moisturiser rather than a body one, but again, moisturiser is an essential item for me so I am not going to complain. Cruelty Free too.

Up next is the first non cruelty free item- Filorga Time Filler 15ml. I know this brand is very highly sought after on Boxession and I have no doubt that this will be a popular inclusion for a lot of people. For me though, I won’t be using it and will find it a new home. I also cannot speak for the quality of the brand as I have never tried them personally.

One I can use is Ecooking Vitamin C Serum 15ml. I have used a peel off mask and a facial serum by them before and have always been pretty impressed with the results. I like to use Vitamin C too, as it is really good for helping to brighten up your skin and make it look radiant and glowing. Of course, they are cruelty free.

Next up, and another non cruelty free item, is Caudalie Vinopure Gel Cleanser 30ml. I know this range is incredibly popular, as is the brand. I think their toner from this range was included last year. I cannot speak for the quality or results as obviously I have never tried them but I know a lot of people rate them very highly. It is a shame they are not cruelty free.

Mio Clay Away Body Cleanser 30ml is next on the list. I have used their Bust Firming Cream (in fact, I used it this morning!) and I do really like it so I am sure this will be the same. The formula is really velvety soft and smells lovely too. Cruelty Free!

This next brand will no doubt cause a few eye rolls among subscribers to their beauty box (as well as other subscription services) as they are featured quite a lot- Lord and Berry Brow Crayon with Applicator, which is full size. I have used their brow pencils before and I did actually like them so I am not too upset at them being featured. They are cruelty free too.

This brand is also featured quite heavily, but doesn’t seem to receive the same negative reaction- Avant Harmonious Rose Quartz Revitalising and Firming Mask, which is full size. A little birdie tells me that this product alone is worth more than the price non subscribers will pay for this calendar. I know Avant are a very highly sought after brand and they are cruelty free, but for more I have always struggled to understand the hype. I do think there are better brands out there in the same price bracket (more on that later) but that being said, I do love a face mask and am always happy to give a brand another chance!

A brand that needs no introduction for me now, as I have a lot of their products around my house already! Rituals The Ritual of Sakura Rejuvenating Pink Salt Scrub 125ml. I adore Rituals, all of their ranges are so luxurious, smell beautiful and my skin seems to really like them too. I have never tried any of their scrubs before though, although I have tried other items in the Ritual of Sakura range! Another cruelty free item for the list!

Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the next item, Eve Lom Cleanser 20ml. I know the cleansing balm is almost a cult product now and loads of people love the brand in general but I cannot say much about it due to them not being cruelty free. I will be finding this a new home, I am sure I won’t struggle though! Also, that is 3 cleansers now, which may be a slight overkill.

An item I know I will love next- Illamasqua Mini Lip Gloss in the shade Vogue. I said in my video that I guessed this would be a red shade but it is actually a really pretty dusky pink shade, which is still something I would wear. Lipgloss is a love hate item for a lot of people but fortunately, I am a lover. I have a few lip products by illamasqua now and I love the staying power. They are cruelty free.

I don’t think I need to introduce this next product either, but I will anyway- Molton Brown Rhubarb and Rose Body Wash 100ml. I love Molton Brown, their shower gels seem to last forever no matter how much you use. Their Heavenly Gingerlily range is absolutely to die for, but I have loved all of their scents so far. This is not one I have tried but I have no doubt I will love it! Cruelty Free and a British icon to boot!

This brand does seem to be featured a lot too- but I am not complaining as I am not able to afford the full price versions! Elemis Pro Collagen Oxygenating Night Cream 50ml. I have used the Pro Collagen Marine Cream and it was in last years calendar, so I have no doubt that this night cream will be just as good. I really like Elemis products, and they are cruelty free, but they are a little out of my price range at full price.

Phillip Kingsley Mayan Vanilla and Orange Blossom Elasticiser 40ml is next. I am unsure about this one, as I cannot seem to find any concrete evidence either way when it comes to their cruelty free stance. I feel like if they were cruelty free, they would have no problem telling people that, so the fact that they haven’t ever given me a definite answer (despite me emailing them several times), it seems a little shady to me. That being said, this item is very highly sought after and I have tried it in the past, before I switched to Cruelty Free only. I did like it when I tried it, however until they give a definitive answer on their cruelty free status, I won’t be using their products.

One item I will be using is the Luxie 522 Tapered Highlighter Brush, which is full size. I am always happy to get a new makeup brush and I have a few by Luxie already. The bristles are super soft and the handle is really easy to hold and control when applying makeup. They are cruelty free too.

This next brand has me a little confused. They were featured in last years calendar (I think it was a concealer) and when I researched, all I could find was that they weren’t cruelty free. However, my recent research leads me to believe that they are actually cruelty free. It is Diego Dalla Palma Eyeliner 25ml. I am a rare breed in that I hate eyeliner- I cannot apply it for the life of me and have always had a bit of a ‘meh’ attitude to their inclusion in boxes. However, I know for a lot of people, eyeliner is an absolute makeup bag staple so I am sure there will be a lot of people who are happy with this!

Glov Eye Mask Navy Blue is next, another full size item. I think this is a full eye mask that you use when sleeping or travelling etc. I do like these, and it is something a little different to include in the calendar. I have a few items by Glov, their cleansing mitt is amazing. They are cruelty free.

I am a big fan of Ren Skincare so I was very happy to see their Glow Daily AHA Tonic 50ml was on the list. AHA’s are having a big moment in skincare right now and for good reason! I am so excited to try this tonic as I have loved every item by Ren that I have tried so far. They are of course, cruelty free.

I have never tried this next brand, but I have heard very good things! Natasha Denona Mini Blush and Glow, which sounds right up my street! I like to put a bit of blush or bronzer on my cheeks as I can look incredibly pale otherwise, so I am looking forward to this being one of my first experiences with this brand. As they are cruelty free, I can use it too!

This next brand are a big favourite of mine, I already own a ton of their products! Sleek Hydrating OR Mattifying primer, which is a full size item. I absolutely love their eyeshadow palettes and one of their facial palettes was included in last years box too. I don’t use primer often, only when I wear foundation, but I do find that it helps to smooth the skin ready for makeup. Sleek are cruelty free.

We are almost there, I promise! I am a massive fan of Anastasia Beverley Hills so I was super excited to see that their Volumising Mascara was going to be in the calendar! Mascara for me is the one makeup item I cannot live without. I wear it everyday (unless I have lash extensions) but have never found one that has really wowed me. I’ve tried many in my time- some good, some bad and some ok but none of them had the wow factor I am looking for. Maybe this one will! They are cruelty free too!

Second to last item on my list is Tan Luxe Super Glow. I do admit to being a little scared of fake tan so I tend to pay for a spray on variety if I ever feel the need to get a golden glow. However, as this is cruelty free, and in the name of science, I will give this a try. Preferably on an area that isn’t visible to others if it goes wrong ha ha.

The final item, and saving the best til last in my opinion is Omorovicza Silver Skin Saviour 15ml. You all know how I feel about this brand and I already have one of these so I know I love it. But having another won’t hurt. This was the brand I was referring to earlier when I said there are better brands in the same price bracket as the Avant, but again, that is just my opinion. They are of course, cruelty free.

I am really impressed with the line up this year, the ration of cruelty free to non cruelty free is definitely making me think it is worth the price tag and there is a goof variety of items (aside from their being 3 cleansers) so there should be something to suit everyone. I will be ordering this I think! What do you guys think? What is your favourite item? Will you be ordering?

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page