top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

ASOS Beauty Box- April 2021

Something a little bit different today, as this review is not technically a subscription box, although it is monthly!


ASOS are a very well known fashion website and they have also now branched out into creating their own monthly beauty boxes, however it is not an ongoing subscription, you simply purchase a box as a one off payment whenever it takes your fancy. I do like this idea, as I cannot tell you the amount of times I have purchased a box in the past because I liked the look of the items included, only to forget to cancel the subscription before it renewed! My error, of course, but at least this way I won't have to worry!


This box actually sold out, as is usually the case, before I could get to purchase it but luckily for me, Mel over at Boxession (where I also blog!) had one spare and sold it to me for the retail price! This is actually my first ASOS box, but of course, I will be keeping my eyes peeled for future edits!


As always, I unboxed this on my YouTube channel and you can catch it here:


The product card states 'Go Play' and on the back it gives a brief introduction to the box this month:

'Get fresh faced for spring. What better way to celebrate the arrival of longer days and all things spring than with a Face and Body box blooming with ultra fresh makeup and skincare?'

Well, when you put it like that ASOS, I really can't think of a better way!


The first item inside is the only one I won't be using due to their non cruelty free status- but they are a brand I did used to love before I made the cruelty free switch! Benefit They're Real! Magnet Extreme Mascara (RRP approx £13.50). This is a deluxe mini size and boasts a flexible, lightweight and buildable mascara for up to 36 hours lengthening wear. With an innovative Extender Brush with a magnetically charged core, it helps to take lashes to extreme lengths- up to 40% longer. The custom designed zig zag bristles are strategically positioned to fan out, separate & define lashes.

This, admittedly, does sound like an amazing mascara so it is such a shame that I won't be able to put it to the test myself. I really would like to see more brands jump on the cruelty free wagon, there is just no need for animal testing in 2021! I will make sure to find this a good home!


Now onto the items I will use! First up, a brand I am a big fan of! Sleek Makeup Lipvolve Clear Lip Gloss (RRP £5.99). This is a gloss that can be used on top of lipstick or on it's own for a high shine finish! The unique silicone applicator ensures smooth application and won’t remove the lipstick underneath. Lightweight and long lasting, for an extreme finish that stays put.

I am a huge Sleek fan- I have so many of their eyeshadow palettes, face palettes, liquid lipsticks- I have a bit of an obsession! Their makeup is super affordable and is decent quality for the price. I love a good gloss and this one does the job I want it to, without breaking the bank! I really like this!


Next up is a brand I am a little late to jump on the bandwagon of! Charlotte Tilbury Charlottes Magic Cream (RRP £10.50 for deluxe miniature). This cream is loaded with hyaluronic acid, rosehip oil and shea butter to keep the skin soft and hydrated through the warmer months. Loved by celebrities and supermodels, the revolutionary, results-driven formula is infused with a magic matrix of oils, Charlottes ‘magic 8’ of supercharged skincare ingredients and SPF15 to flood your complexion with moisture and transform the appearance of tired, dull skin for a glowing, dewy, plumper-looking canvas!

I imagine for many people, this may have been the product they were most looking forward to, and the sample size will mean I can probably get a few day's worth of uses out of it to see if it works for me. I am certainly intrigued about all of the claims- it must be called 'magic' for a reason, right?


Up next, another brand I haven't really tried much from is Ciate London Everyday Vacay Setting Powder (RRP £18). Delicately coconut fragranced to take you back to the beach, this finely-milled and lightweight loose powder smooths over makeup for a crease-free, soft-focus finish with no flashback. This lightweight powder works well under the eyes to minimize creasing, or over the T-zone for a shine free, soft focus finish.

I have only recently started using setting powder- I know, I know, I am way behind the times! One of the things that always worries me about setting powders is that awful flash back, white look when a photograph is taken with the flash on- not a flattering look! However, this really is invisible and it smells so exotic- if only I really was on a beach somewhere instead of in not so sunny Yorkshire!


Lastly- and the main reason I wanted this box- is the Morphe 9V Vintage Rose Artistry Palette (RRP £12). This palette has nine matte and shimmering shades made with sunny days in mind. All of your dusty rose dreams are coming true with these gorgeous neutral hues. This palette of powerfully pigmented, crazy-creamy, beyond-blendable shades is made for creating rosy, soft glam looks.

I honestly may not even use this palette, it is far too pretty! I am joking, of course, but it really is stunning and I am looking forward to seeing what looks I can create with this- bearing in mind my makeup skills are very limited! I am trying to get better at eyeshadow application (blame the queen that is Bailey Sarian for this!) and with these shades being very neutral, I think I will be less scared to try them out and make mistakes than I would with brighter colours!


So, just a quick add up of the totals brings it to £59.99- not bad when you consider that the price of the box is just £16 (including postage)!


I am really impressed with my first venture into ASOS beauty boxes. I think they did a great job of putting together some spring essentials that can help you to refresh your look for a bargain price. With only one item I won't use and most of the items being decent sized, I am really happy with my purchase (via Mel!) and will definitely be keeping my eyes out for the next box reveal! What I also like is that they reveal the full contents on the website so you know what will be in it before you purchase- no nasty surprises that way and you can pick and choose what boxes you get! I have a feeling this won't be my only purchase- although maybe I will be quick enough myself next time!




Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page