top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Birchbox review- January 2021

Another day, another review! You may remember me reviewing this back in June and July of last year and I'm bringing it back for January too! ! It was actually the first box I ever subscribed to so I owe them a debt of gratitude for starting me off on this journey!


As mentioned, I was subscribed to them for a while but I cancelled as I didn't feel that the products really excited me at the time, but I have always followed them on social media and kept up to date with their edits. I saw a spoiler for January's box and thought it looked really good, so I placed an order!

Birchbox will usually give you one item that you can customise or choose from- so sometimes it may be that they let you choose between 2 different products from the same brand, such as a mascara or an eyeliner, or sometimes it may be choosing the specific shade of a lipstick or a highlighter for example. This month there wasn't a choice but I know they are bringing it back next month as I have seen a spoiler!


You may already know that I have started a Youtube channel to go along with this blog, and I did a video unboxing of this, which you can watch here (I would also love it if you could like and subscribe too!):



So onto the box itself! The theme for January was 'Rethink your routine, trust the magic of a fresh start'- very apt I feel! They have also replaced the usual drawer style boxes with regular lidded boxes, which I am in two minds about as the little drawers were always so cute! The box itself was grey and emblazoned with the above theme slogan in white letters, very chic colour scheme! The idea behind the theme is to help you revamp your beauty routine.

Upon opening the box, I was met with the theme and product description card, which gave me the details of the items I would find in my box this month. As I mentioned, I had seen a few spoilers for the month so was eager to see which items I had inside!


The first item was what I assume would have been the 'choice' item had that option been available this month, as there were 2 different mask options by Marcelle. I was sent the Purifying Mask (RRP £17.50 for the full size). This was actually the one I would have chosen anyway, so I was pretty happy! This clay mask addresses all the concerns of oily skin by cleansing impurities, refining pores and leaving skin with a clean matte look. The creamy texture also prevents it from being too drying on the skin, which is always a concern with clay masks. I don't have oily skin but thanks to some medication I was put on last year- which I am now not taking anymore- my skin broke out in hormonal spots which I am now getting on top of. I like to use purifying products just to give my skin a helping hand and this is the perfect size to get at least 2 or 3 uses out of it!


The next item is a new brand for me, Lise Watier Illuminating Primer (RRP £42 for the full size). When it comes to looking radiant, you can't go past an illuminating primer. This is a cream to gel primer that gives a radiant, delicate and pearlescent finish and leaves your skin with a soft and radiant glow. You can apply it before foundation as a base or afterwards as a highlighter and it suits all complexions. I do love to use a primer before my make up as I find it helps my foundation to apply more smoothly and last longer, so I am excited to add this to my collection!


The third item was something that was included in every box! This Works Morning Expert Hyaluronic Serum (RRP £37.00 for full size). This is a youth boosting serum that has been formulated to target tired looking skin. It is packed with plumping hyaluronic acid and brightening vitamin c to brighten, firm, tighten and smooth your complexion. I absolutely love This Works products and this is no different, my skin glows! I can feel a purchase coming on!


Item number four is the only one I won't be using due to the none cruelty free status (they don't test themselves but as they sell in China, they pay third parties to test on their behalf). Palmers Coconut Oil Formula Conditioning Shampoo (RRP £4.99 for full size). This formula deeply hydrates hair with a fusion of ethical and sustainable coconut oil and Tahitian Monoi. It is rich, creamy and gently cleanses, adds shine and helps your hair to stay moisturised long after you rinse off. I will make sure to find this a new home. I was slightly disappointed to see this, as the other hair options were by Amika, a brand I have been dying to try. But you win some, you lose some and that is the risk you take when you purchase these boxes.


The final item was the reason I bought this box, as it is one of my favourite brands. Dr Botanicals Strawberry and Poppy Seed Cleansing Bar (RRP £9.95). There were a few different variations of this in the boxes and this was the one I wanted, as I already have all the others. This is perfect for your weekly exfoliation session and is formulated with 98% natural ingredients such as exfoliating poppy seeds and revitalising strawberry. It is small but mighty and cleanses and exfoliates the skin all over to restore your natural glow. This smells amazing, I could smell it even before I opened the box! I have a few of these bars lying around but have never tried this one so I am so excited to add it to my growing collection! It is also full size!


The price points are as follows:


  • One month/rolling monthly- £12.95 including delivery

  • 3 months- £38.85 including delivery

  • 6 months- £74.75 including delivery

  • 12 months- £145.40 including delivery

They also have a limited time discount code to get 40% off any subscription with the code JAN40, but only for the month of January!


All RRP prices above are based on the full size items- Birchbox usually include sample or travel size items.

I was really happy with the items this month- it definitely seemed like everything was suited to me, and most of it is cruelty free! I have unsubscribed for now, but I will definitely keep my eye on future boxes and make a purchase when the next one catches my eye!






Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page