top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Brand Focus- Grace and Hartland

It's been a while since I did one of these brand focus posts but I am so glad to be bringing it back!

You may remember my most recent review of The Natural Beauty Box and you may recognise the name of Grace and Hartland as their beautiful cleansing oil was featured inside that box. Well after my review went live, I was contacted by the brand and they very generously offered to send me out a package of some of their best selling products- needless to say, I was happy to oblige! Thank you so much to them for reaching out!


First, a little background on the brand. Grace and Hartland was created in 2018 by the Clifton family in North Somerset- a place I have visited a few times and love! It all began when Sheila became interested in natural skincare and creating products that were suitable for her sensitive skin, whilst also being purse friendly! Her daughters Amy and Nicola were also becoming more mindful of added chemicals in the cosmetics they were using around the same time and so it all came together beautifully! With the support and skills of their significant others, they formed a small family team and they created their unique recipes and formulations after many experiments and discussions.

Their mission and belief is that you should love your skin naturally, no matter your age. Giving your skin the best ingredients without chemical additives is the name of their game. All of their products are hand crafted using natural and high quality ingredients that have been sourced from UK companies with similar values and ethics. They also support the growing movement towards eco friendly, vegan and natural beauty products. During small batch production, no plastic equipment is used and they aim to keep packaging to a minimum. They use only recycled paper and all products come in either glass or aluminium jars and bottles.

In 2020, they were awarded a status of Plastic Free Champions by Surfers Against Sewage Uk, a grassroots movement tackling plastic pollution and protecting the UK's coastlines. Sheila also graduated with a Diploma in Organic Skincare Formulation in 2020.


It is clear already that the company have so much to be proud of and I am so excited to have been able to try out some of their amazing products as I adore the cleansing oil! When the package arrived, I almost snatched it out of the postman's hands to see what was inside!


The first item- and the one that caught my eye straight away- was their Original Facial Serum (RRP £14.50). This is a simple blend of plant and nut oils and infused with Lavender and Frankincense to soften and nourish the skin. It is suitable for all skin types too, which is good to know! It includes Macadamia Nut Oil (helps in collagen production and is anti-inflammatory), Apricot Kernel Oil (resembles our natural sebum and improves elasticity), Sunflower Oil (helps with moisture retention and has high levels of Vitamin E, Omega 3 and 6), Olive Squalane (softens, smooths, protects against moisture loss and improves elasticity) and Vitamin E (natural antioxidant). That is a lot of goodness! As you can imagine, I couldn't wait to put this to the test!

I will be honest here, I was a little nervous about using this. Not because I didn't think I would like it, but because my skin has been a little ropey lately. Some of you may know that I had a bad reaction to some medication last year and since then, my skin has been in turmoil so I have had to strip a lot of my routine right back to basics- which is no fun when you are a beauty blogger! I have always had great skin, so for it to suddenly erupt into hormonal acne was not a pleasant experience and whilst it is much better than it was, it is still not quite right. However, in the name of science (and because it sounds beautiful!), I proceeded to apply this to my face every morning. The first thing I noticed was how beautifully it absorbed into my skin and with no greasiness or stickiness left behind- a feeling I hate! It also felt light on my skin and my makeup just glided on afterwards too. After a few days, I definitely felt that my skin was nourished deep within the layers and that I also looked more radiant- I definitely won't complain about that! The best thing was that it didn't irritate my skin or set off any reactions so that was an absolute bonus!


Next up was their Bloom Deodorant (RRP £4). This is a completely natural deodorant that contains a whole host of gorgeous ingredients such as Arrowroot, Coconut Oil, Shea Butter, Sunflower Seed Oil, Olive Wax, Lemon Peel, Lavender Oil , Jojoba Seed Oil, Vitamin E, Jasmine Oil, Ylang Ylang flower oil and Litsea Oil.

I have been hit and miss with natural deodorants- some of them are beautiful but some of them cause a lot of irritation to my underarms so I was intrigued as to which way this would go. I am happy to announce that this sunk into my skin beautifully with no irritation and left my pits odour free all day- even after a sweaty workout. My one gripe is that I have long nails and this makes the formula tricky to apply but that is definitely a me problem and not a reflection on the product at all!


Finally, I was also sent their Lavender and Lemongrass Body Butter (RRP £9.00) which has a brand new recipe. Lavender, as I am sure you are all aware, is said to have calming and soothing properties to help you feel more balanced. Lemongrass is refreshing and uplifting, making them the perfect combination to lift your mood! All of their body butters also contain Organic Shea Butter (an intense moisturiser which is highly emollient whilst allowing the skin to breathe), Sunflower Oil (rich in vitamins to restore moisture and elasticity), Coconut Oil (lovely and light, it soothes the skin without blocking the pores), Vitamin E (a natural antioxidant) and a blend of essential oils (used in aromatherapy and skincare in small quantities due to high concentration).

I adore body butters. There is nothing I like more than slathering myself in one after a shower- it is just such a pampering experience for me. This one smells divine- I was a bit worried as I don't tend to like the smell of Lavender (blame my hayfever!) but this is so subtle and relaxing with a bit of a kick from the Lemongrass. It left my skin feeling so smooth and soft that I couldn't stop stroking it. It was especially good after I had shaved my legs, as it was so soothing and prevented any irritation from my razor.


So my final thoughts? Having tried a few products from this brand now, it is safe to say that I am hooked! I have been on my natural skincare journey since 2018 and in that time, I have tried a few brands so it is rare when a brand stands out to me but Grace and Hartland have definitely achieved this. I just love their brand message, their ethics and their formulations- my skin loves them too! The affordable price tag, the sustainable production and packaging and the use of natural ingredients proves that skincare doesn't have to be full of chemicals, tested on animals or cost an arm and a leg to actually work! I will definitely be coming back to Grace and Hartland again- their natural soaps and illuminating glow oil are definitely intriguing me!


Also, I just want to add that now, more than ever, it is so important for us to support small, UK businesses and help them to thrive post pandemic. By shopping with Grace and Hartland, you are supporting a small, family business and helping to bring natural, sustainable products into your life, and the lives of those around you!



Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page