top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Bruu Gourmet Tea Box- December 2020

You may remember me reviewing this back in October and I was very surprised to see it again- but pleasantly surprised, as I wasn't expecting it! I want to thank the team at Bruu Tea for sending this box over- I love a good cuppa and discovering new teas from around the world- which is precisely what this box is about!


As always, I unboxed this on my Youtube channel and you can catch the video here (and please subscribe if you haven't already- it means so much to me!)


So I will start off by telling you a little about Bruu! They are on a mission to introduce the world to better tasting tea! Every month, they will send you a tailored selection of gourmet loose leaf teas, lovingly packed and straight through your letterbox. They will also include tasting notes and other little surprises. So essentially, you get a box tailored to your preferences containing three gourmet teas and a bonus 'Discover' Tea from their featured region, tea tasting cards, a free surprise gift every month and VIP benefits and discounts. For only £10 per month! This includes delivery within the UK but if you are outside of the UK don't despair- you will just have to pay £2.99 for delivery!


So what was inside this months?


The first item was the little edible treat that they send as an extra- and it is certainly different to anything I have ever seen before! It was from a brand called Chewy Moon and was Pumpkin Banana Fingers, which count as one of your 5 a day! Sweet banana is blended with creamy pumpkin to make a perfect match and a delicious, flavourful power snack. They are made by nutritionists, all natural, high in fibre and contain no artificial sugar or sweeteners- just 100% banana and pumpkin! I wasn't sure what to expect from these as even though I love banana, pumpkin isn't something I have ever really had before but these were delicious- chewy, fruity and moreish! I am now sourcing where I can get more!


The next item was the bonus 'Discover' tea for the month, which was inside a golden sachet. It was Shawlands OP from the Uva tea region in Sri Lanka. There was a little information sheet explaining about the region and how the tea is made, which was really interesting- I never really think about how the tea gets to my cup! You can drink this tea with or without milk and it has a delicious aroma- hints of caramel! The aftertaste has notes of black pepper, black liquorice, minty toffee and lemon. A combination I would never put together but that actually works really well. It definitely has a unique taste, I have never had anything like it before. Fun fact- the national sport of Sri Lanka is Volleyball!


Onto the three main teas now! They usually send a fruit tea, a green tea and a black tea. The first tea that I took out was the fruit tea, named Lazzzy Tea. The tasting card attached to it describes it as sweet, fresh and spice combined with Jasmine blossoms, Apple pieces, Lemongrass and Peppercorn. It is spicy on the nose with hints of apple and rose, very subtle in flavour with a delicate fire, perfect for relaxing. It is a fine mixture of ethically grown ingredients from around the globe and it is caffeine free. The fruits included are specially processed to lower their acidity, which gives it a much smoother taste. They are also sourced sustainably. I really like this tea- fruit teas do tend to be my favourite and this one has such a unique mix of flavours that work so well together!


The green tea was named Yin and Yang and the tasting card described it as a green tea grown in south eastern China near the river Yangtze, with sweet and sour notes working in harmony together. A tangy aroma accompanied by a slight sweetness and intriguing scent. A rather strong yet moreish green. In China, this tea is very popular and it's tradition is very old. Grown near the Yangtze, the longest river in Asia (also the third longest in the world and the longest in the world to flow entirely in one country), the river provides the soil of the local plantations with minerals and moisture. This tea is quite strong for a green tea, but I actually don't mind that, as I do like a green tea. It is quite sweet, but also has a little bit of a kick to it which makes for an interesting flavour!


The final tea was the black tea, named Chococa and the tasting card described it as a Caribbean inspired black tea blended with chocolate and coconut. Reminiscent of a dark chocolate bounty bar, this fills your mouth with smooth flavour. The black tea undertones provide a constant reminder that this is actually tea- sometimes you can taste banana. Cocoa from Cote D'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), the pods containing the beans are harvested when a sufficient number are ripe and luxury black tea from the Assam district in India. The Assam district is very popular for tourists and many tea estates offer guest rooms so you can get a real feel for what it is like to live on a tea estate as well as visit the factory to see the tea making process. I was a little apprehensive about this tea as I really dislike the taste of coconut (I love the smell though) and for me, it did stand out a little bit too much for me to enjoy the tea properly. All is not lost though, as I gave this to someone who I know will love it!


I know this box is a little different to the others I usually feature on this blog but I like different- and I want to bring you reviews of all different types of boxes! I was so impressed by the service, the product and the items inside this subscription and I am so pleased I got to try it again! I love a good cup of tea but there is more out there than what you can find on the supermarket shelves- this box shows you that! I am also so impressed that you get all of that for just £10, it's an absolute bargain!






Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page