top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Bruu Gourmet Tea Subscription Review

I am always so excited when companies contact me because they like what I do and want me to review for them- this started out as just a little hobby for me and has become more of a passion. I want to thank Henry at Bruu Tea for contacting me and sending this box over- I love a good cuppa and discovering new teas from around the world- which is precisely what this box is about!


As always, I unboxed this on my Youtube channel and you can catch the video here (and please subscribe if you haven't already- it means so much to me!)



So I will start off by telling you a little about Bruu! They are on a mission to introduce the world to better tasting tea! Every month, they will send you a tailored selection of gourmet loose leaf teas, lovingly packed and straight through your letterbox. They will also include tasting notes and other little surprises. So essentially, you get a box tailored to your preferences containing three gourmet teas and a bonus 'Discover' Tea from their featured region, tea tasting cards, a free surprise gift every month and VIP benefits and discounts. For only £10 per month! This includes delivery within the UK but if you are outside of the UK don't despair- you will just have to pay £2.99 for delivery!


So, what was inside this delicious box?


The first item I saw was the extra gift included- which was edible! It was a blueberry almond breakfast bar from a company called Kind Snacks. This bar is huge! They are all high in fibre and gluten free bars, so you can be assured that you are getting something healthy and nutritious to snack on. They contain 5 super grains and are soft baked to provide sustained energy on the go- with the sweet taste of blueberry to boot. Blueberry is one of my favourite flavours so I was delighted with this- and it was delicious too! I was also happy to see a leaflet included with some money off vouchers for Tesco, Waitrose and Sainsburys and an online discount code should you wish to purchase some more- which is a very real possibility in my case!


The next item was the bonus 'Discover' tea for the month, which was inside a golden sachet. It was Turkish Rize, from the Hemsin region of Turkey. There was a little information sheet explaining about the region and how the tea is made, which was really interesting- I never really think about how the tea gets to my cup! Apprently Turkey is the worlds biggest consumer of tea- and here was me thinking it was us Brits! This tea is a very intense red colour and has a gorgeous aroma. It is very strong, so I would say it is better for a morning brew than an evening but it was absolutely delicious. I am not always a fan of strong teas, preferring delicate green tea flavours, but this really surprised me with how much I liked it! Fun Fact- the national sport of Turkey is Oil Wrestling!

So onto the 3 teas now and the first one is definitely interesting! It was a fruity tea, the flavour being Orange Ice Cream from Morocco. The finest fruits from Morocco makeup this mouth watering tea. The country is home to gardens of apple, avocados, almonds, bananas, kiwi, plums, persimmons, nuts, grapes, pomegranates and orange trees to name but a few! It has the perfect climate for juicy and flavoursome fruits. To ensure a creamy ice cream taste, the fruits in the tea were specially processed to reduce acidity, resulting in a smooth blend. It is a creamy orange flavour with a hint of vanilla and mint. I am in a minority here- I hate orange! I know it is a very popular flavour and so I will be giving this to someone who can really appreciate it properly! But it definitely sounds intriguing- ice cream as a tea flavour is not something I have ever really heard of before!


The next tea was a green tea, named Spring Beginnings from the Kagoshima Prefecture region of Japan. The region has a long history of volcanic activity with eleven still active, such that much of the land throughout has been covered in a layer of volcanic ash known as 'shirasu'. This ash helps produce soil that is exceptionally rich in minerals and creates single estate green and white teas. This is a harmonious blend of green, white and pai mu tah teas. It is a green tea but it has some definite fruity kicks throughout. The combination of fruits such as strawberry and pineapple definitely flatters the smoothness of the tea and it smells just as good as it tastes! I absolutely loved this one- I will not be sharing this!


The final tea was a black tea named KTDA from the Kangaita region of Kenya. It is situated between the Rundu and Mukengeria rivers which serve the Ndia community. The factory receives clean, unpolluted water straight from the Mukengeria river. The tea trees are deep well drained and thrive in the humid top soils. KTDA (Kenya Tea Development Agency) is committed to effective management services to the smallholder tea sub sector, ensuring fair prices. This tea is a bright and punchy black tea, harvested 7000ft up on the slopes of Mt Kenya. It has a sweet and malty taste and a gorgeous golden colour. You definitely can taste the quality! I think this would be a great breakfast tea, as it has a strong flavour but not overpowering!


I know this box is a little different to the others I usually feature on this blog but I like different- and I want to start bringing you reviews of all different types of boxes! I was so impressed by the service, the product and the items inside this subscription and I am so pleased I got to try it! I love a good cup of tea but there is more out there than what you can find on the supermarket shelves- this box shows you that! I am also so impressed that you get all of that for just £10, it's an absolute bargain!




Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page