top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Glossybox May 2022 'Perfectly Imperfect' Edit PLUS mystery box review.

A new box to the blog today- although not a new box to me as I was originally subscribed to this box way back in 2017/2018! I initially unsubscribed due to the products not really suiting me and also due to a change in financial status at the time, but I have always kept my eye on them and they seem to have gone from strength to strength where a lot of other beauty boxes have failed. It's been a while since I had a box from them- my last was their Halloween edit in 2018 (which was an amazing box!) but I saw the spoiler for this months edit and couldn't resist getting reacquainted!

Glossybox is a monthly beauty box containing 5 beauty treats which are usually deluxe sample or full sized. The contents always exceed the price of the box and they often release limited edition boxes too.

As always, I unboxed this on my Youtube channel and you can watch it here:


The theme for May is 'Perfectly Imperfect' and it aims to help every member feel as confident as possible, as wonderful in their own skin and embrace every bit of themselves- from the parts they like to the imperfections they may not be thrilled about. This box has been curated to champion this positive outlook because there is beauty in the unique, in diversity and in you just as you are. What an empowering message, one I am sure we can all get behind!

As an added bonus, I saw a deal on their Instagram page where you could also get a free mystery box with your first order by entering the code 'FREEBOX' at the checkout- 2 boxes for the price of one, who can complain about that?

They came super quickly, literally 2 days after I placed my order so I was really excited to get stuck in. I will review the May box first and then I will briefly talk about the mystery box too!

So the first item in the May box- and one of the reasons I purchased this- was Balance Me BHA Exfoliating Concentrate (RRP £10 for deluxe mini- full size worth £26). This aids you in removing dead skin cells, battling blemishes, targeting enlarged pores and improving hydration without causing redness or inflammation. It is rich in Salicylic Acid, is fast acting, absorbs quickly and leaves behind healthy and radiant skin. It is cruelty free, suitable for all skin types, vegan, British made and 99% natural. I absolutely love Balance Me products and their new look packaging- it looks so professional and luxe! This is a generous sample size which should last a while as you don't need much of this gentle but effective formula. I have finally got my skin back on track after a reaction to some medication in 2020 but I am always cautious of using new products in case they are too harsh for my skin. I needn't have worried here though, it really is so gentle whilst leaving my skin glowing afterwards. I may have to invest in the full size- sorry bank balance!


Next up, something that is so apt for this time of year when we all want to start getting those golden tans- Minetan Coffee Scrub (RRP £9.95 for deluxe mini, full size worth £12.95). Exfoliate and revitalise the skin with this caffeine kick for the entire body. Buff this on to your skin to smooth and target unwanted dry patches. It is enriched with ultra hydrating Sweet Almond and Macadamia Oils to leave your skin feeling buttery soft, smooth and glowing. Whilst I am definitely not a fan of drinking coffee, I do love a good coffee scrub and it's been a while since I received one so I am happy to have another one- and from a brand I haven't tried before too! You can use this on your face and your body, it is made with sustainably sourced coffee grounds, is cruelty free and vegan, uses 100% natural DHA, is free of parabens, sulphates, palm oil and mineral oils as well as being made from recycled materials. That's a lot of goodness in one sachet! I haven't used this yet as I have a fresh tattoo that is still in the healing stage but once it has healed, I will definitely be breaking this open!


Next up was an item I am looking forward to using once my tattoo has healed- Daily Concepts Body Scrubber (RRP £16). This silicone body scrubber gently exfoliates the skin and also allows you to enjoy the feeling of a massage. You could even pair it with the coffee scrub for the ultimate pamper. It has a hook on the back for you to loop your fingers through whilst using and that also enables you to hang it up when not in use. I love how soft this is on my skin- I tried it on my arms in my shower this morning and it feels so pampering. I can't wait to use it with the scrub!


Second to last out of the May box was a brand I have not actually heard of before, Sophia and Mabelle Cream Stick Blush (RRP £13) in the stunning shade 'Blossoming'- perfect for spring. This adds a beautiful pink tone to your cheeks and is the perfect shade for all occasions. I usually opt for powder blushes rather than cream formulas as I find them easier to work with and blend, however I am always up for being proved wrong. The shade really is beautiful and the packaging is so cute, I love how you just twist it up for more- definitely less mess! I wasn't expecting to like this as much as I do but I found it really easy to blend and get the perfect colour, which matched my skin tone too!


Finally, a brand I have heard of but haven't tried much from as of yet- Grace and Stella Everything is Better in Pink Eye Patches (RRP £3 for one pair). Focused on firming and hydrating the under eyes, these pretty pink eye patches draw in moisture to even the deepest layers of the skin. Powerful antioxidants help to protect the skin from blue light exposure (hello screens!) while other key ingredients help maintain healthy blood circulation and strengthen capillaries to help with dark circles. I have a few of these eye patches and they are so good to have on standby when your eyes need some extra TLC. I do have issues with dark circles and as I work in front of a computer screen all day, my eyes definitely could use a break from all the blue light. I also have hayfever and during the summer, I rub my eyes a lot which can make them dry and sore- which is where these masks really come in handy too. I am saving these for one of those days where my skin needs a pick me up!


So those are the 5 items inside May's Glossybox- I believe the contents are the same for everyone too. I think they have covered a good variety of beauty from skincare and body care to some make up too, so there should be something to suit everyone's tastes, with a combined RRP of £51.95! Everything is cruelty free too, as an added bonus! I also loved the mirror in the lid, which displayed the phrase 'You are beautiful' in 4 different languages- fitting the theme perfectly!




I will now give a brief rundown of the items inside the free mystery box I received with the order too- contents will vary with this which is why I am not going into too much detail here as you may get different items!

First up, there was the Skimono Radiance Recovery 4c eye masks, with an RRP of £10. These help to brighten, hydrate and smooth lines and wrinkles. Another set of eye masks, from a brand I have tried before- I won't complain as I can never have too many of these!


Second was a sachet of Cerave SA Smoothing Cream, which is around £12.50 for the full size tube. This has a rich formula to gently exfoliate and smooth the skin whilst helping it retain it's moisture. I am a little disappointed at the sachet sample being one of the 5 items and not an extra, as Glossybox always say items will be deluxe samples or full sized but as it is a free box, I can't really complain. Cerave are not cruelty free so I won't use this.


Third was Elemis Superfood Glow Priming Moisturiser, which is worth £44 for the full size (this is a deluxe sample). This is a probiotic moisturiser that primes and hydrates the skin to reveal a radiant glow. I used to absolutely love Elemis products and would always be excited seeing them in beauty boxes but unfortunately they are no longer cruelty free, which means I will not be using this. Such a shame!


Next up was The Beauty Crop Palm Balm, which is worth £7. The colour I received was 'Mauve Wave' which is a gorgeous red/pink colour. This balm is multiuse for the lips, cheeks and eyelids and is formulated with loads of natural and nourishing ingredients. As mentioned above, I am not usually a fan of cream formulas when it comes to blush but this will be perfect for my lips and it is just so cute!


Finally, there was another make up item from a brand I love- Ciate London Glow To Illuminating Blush, which is worth £22. I received the shade 'Matchmaker' which I think is one of the older shades as I cannot find it on the website now. These have been designed to suit all skin tones and have highlighting pearls to reflect light and brighten the complexion. This is just so cute and a beautiful colour, although 2 blush products is a little much- but again, a free box so I can't say too much!




The Prices

There are a few ways that you can subscribe to Glossybox:

  • 1 month rolling subscription- £13.25 per month

  • 1 year rolling subscription- £11.75 per month

  • 3 month prepay up front- £38.25

  • 6 month prepay up front- £69.00

  • 12 month prepay up front- £132.00

All of these options include postage costs.


I am really happy to have been reintroduced to Glossybox again after a few years away. They always seem to nail it when it comes to including cute items and fitting in with their themes. When I unsubscribed before, it wasn't that Glossybox had particularly done anything wrong, but there were just other boxes that suited me better at the time and due to a change in finances at that point, I had to cut down on unnecessary expenses. I never forgot about them though, and would always keep my eye out for any edits that caught my eye so I could purchase and I will continue to do so. I'm really happy with both the May box and the mystery box that came free- out of 10 items, only 2 were not cruelty free so thtat ratio works fine for me! I realise with Glossybox, they don't market themselves as exclusively cruelty free, so I understand and appreciate that not all items in their boxes will be- that is a risk you take with this sort of subscription. However I am so happy that I can use the majority of the items and I will be awaiting my tattoo healing so I can try out the scrub! I have unsubscribed for now but will be sure to purchase again the next time an edit catches my eye! Good to see you again, Glossybox, I've missed you!






Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page