top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Lofty Box October 2022 review

Something new on the blog today- but in a very good way of course! A few months ago whilst unboxing The Natural Beauty Box, I came across a leaflet for another subscription box called Lofty Box. Upon reading the leaflet, I was very intrigued and started following them on Instagram to keep up with their journey. I then got a taster box for £3, which I reviewed here (see previous post!) and this one arrived a few days later as a full price box.


Just a little background then! Lofty Box are your go to sustainable subscription box. Each year, the UK throws away 9.5 million tonnes of food waste. This is not just what we don't eat, but a whole host of health and wellness products end up in landfill due to out of date branding or discontinued lines. With Lofty Box, you help put a stop to this waste. They have made it easy for you to discover new, sustainable brands and treat yourself at the same time! Subscribers will rescue otherwise discarded products each month and try innovative new items from emerging ethical brands in the wellness industry. Plus, they are 100% vegan.


You can expect to receive a range of premium items each month from food and drink to the occasional skincare and home products.


Do you know the difference between best before and use by dates? Best Before dates are about quality rather than safety. Products past their Best Before date are still perfectly legal to sell and safe to consume. They never work with products past their Use By date, which would be a matter of safety.


They help to reduce waste by utilising surplus stock from businesses. You may receive items in your box with a short of past Best Before Date on- you will be saving the products from landfill!


Lastly, they aim to work with as many brands as possible who are plant based, organic, plastic free, carbon offsetting, cruelty free and local producers. All the good stuff of course!


I was so excited to get into this and, as always, I did that right with you guys in my unboxing video, which can be found here:


I wasn't sure if this box would be similar to the taster box or if it would be quite different but I was very pleasantly surprised once again!


The first item was familiar, as I had received them in the taster box! They were the Plantain Chips by Purely. These were sea salt flavour and less than 150 calories. I have to say, these did confuse me at first. Plantain is part of the banana family but a savoury version, however I did still half expect these to be sweet when I first bit into them. They certainly were not sweet though, and had a delightful level of crunch to them. I was not sure what to expect from these but they exceeded my expectations!



Another item I was familiar with were the Berry Burst Beat Bites, which there were 2 packs of. There was the Cacao Cranberry version in the taster box! Each pack contains 6 bites each, which are high in fibre, gluten free, vegan, contain no added salt and are a real boost from nature. I absolutely love these as a post workout or mid morning snack to keep me going. They are absolutely delicious too!


Next up was a new item, and one that intrigued me! Cacao Crunch Vegan Donut Bar by Raw Press. This is a raw protein donut made from oats, cashews and dates, with vegan hemp protein powder, and a raw chocolate and lucuma icing. It contains 10g of plant protein so is the perfect post gym snack.



I was a little confused about what the next item (or items again!) was at first but I now know it to be Porridge by Bio and Me, created by the Gut Health Doctor. These are said to be really good for your digestive health and as I suffer from IBS, anything that can help me with that is a winner! I love porridge and as there were 2 sachets (and 2 in the taster box!), I get to enjoy it a little longer!


Next up were a couple of protein bars by Misfits, one in a Chocolate Caramel flavour and one in a Chocolate Speculoos flavour. They are both plant powered protein bars with 16g and 15g of protein respectively, as well as containing just 1g of sugar and being vegan too. I love a protein bar after a workout and these are so moreish too!



Last time around, there were some coffee sachets included which I won't use, however this time there was some tea- yes! There were 2 'The Lucky Irishman' teabags and 2 'Blue Sky Chamomile' teabags, both by Just T. The Lucky Irishman is an organic grown black team with caramel cream and the Blue Sky Chamomile is an organic herbal infusion with chamomile and verbena. Perfect for these cold nights! I cannot wait to try these!


As with last time, there were a couple of beauty items too. The first was a Conditioner Bar by Owl and Bee. It has no added scent and is said to be for all hair types. Enriched with cocoa butter, shea butter, and sweet almond oil, this conditioner bar is perfect for feeding and moisturising your hair as a part of your hair care routine. I am hit and miss with shampoo and conditioner bars but I am always looking for my holy grail- maybe this is it?



There was also a Lip Balm by The Bristol Soap Company in the Sweet Orange scent. They are an ethical, natural, vegan and handmade company. Made using their special blend of carefully selected organic oils and butters. It is rich, moisturising, soothing and luxurious to use. With the addition of sweet orange essential oil, this lip balm offers a subtle sweet and fruity flavour. I am not a fan of orange, as I know I have mentioned before, however I am always willing to overlook that for a good product- and this is a good product for sure! Lip balm is an absolute essential for me and so this will definitely come in handy!


Finally, there was a glass item wrapped in tissue for added protection and inside was something I have never really thought of trying before- but definitely will try! Bamboo Water by Juno, with a hint of Yuzu. This is sugar free, low calorie and made with natural bamboo leaf extract. It is lightly sparkling, which is not usually my preference however Yuzu is said to have a citrusy flavour to it so I am hoping I will really enjoy this- it is certainly different to anything I have tried before!



The prices are as follows for this box:

  • Subscription: £8 per month

  • Snack box only subscription: £8 per month

  • One off box: £16

  • One off Luxe box: £25

There are also a few prepay options too:

  • 3 month prepay: £27

  • 6 month prepay: £54

  • 12 month prepay: £108

Delivery is £3.


To say I didn't know what to expect from this box, I was so pleasantly surprised at the sheer amount of products they had crammed in, and the variety of items too. There really did seem to be something in there to suit everyone and even the items I won't use, I was able to pass on to others with no problem.


I also really love the message and values behind the box, trying to create less waste and introduce you to a whole host of health and wellness brands that you otherwise may not have tried.


I am really looking forward to seeing where this box goes and I really hope they continue to go from strength too strength as it is an amazing idea. I will definitely be keeping a close eye on them!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page