top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

The Pip Box February 2021 Review- The Self Love Edit

It is very soon to be my 30th Birthday- in fact, by the time you read this then that day could well have passed! I decided that, as we are still in lockdown for the time being in the UK (putting any celebration plans on hold), I would at least treat myself to something! Enter February's The Pip Box! I saw a couple of spoilers on their Instagram- one for a brand I absolutely love and one for a brand I have been wanting to try for some time, which sealed the deal!


I reviewed this back in July and have also reviewed a number of times over on Boxession, so it is safe to say I am no stranger to this box! For those of you who are not familiar, they are a monthly cruelty free subscription box featuring a mixture of beauty products and the occasional edible treat too! The boxes are £20 per month (free delivery in the UK ) but I managed to get a discount code by putting my email in when I first loaded the webpage and 'spinning the wheel' to see what prize I got. I ended up paying £16 for the box, which is a bargain!


As always, I unboxed this on my youtube channel, which you can catch by clicking the link below:



The theme of February, being the month of love, was the self love edit- all about doing what makes you happy. Whilst there is more to happiness than new beauty products, it certainly helps! The items were specially selected to make you look and feel your best! According to the product card, the total RRP of the box is over £53!


The first item was the aforementioned spoiler for the brand I love and it was Lime Crime Velvetines Red Matte Lipstick (RRP £10- slightly smaller than the full size on the link posted). Lime Crime liquid lipsticks are my absolute favourites, they lend lips a stunning, suede finish. Intensely pigmented and packed with skin nourishing extracts, the french vanilla infused formula feels comfortable and won't dry out the lips. When I say these lipsticks last all day, I really mean it. I have a few of their lip colours in my makeup stash and I always find that I come back to them time and again as nothing else comes close to the staying power and colour payoff! I love the cute size of this, perfect for slipping into your pocket or handbag- not that you need to reapply!


The next item is another brand I am familiar with, but not a product I have tried before. Phase Zero Making Moves Blusher (RRP £21). This silky smooth formulation is subtle and buildable, blending seamlessly into the skin for a gorgeous, natural colour. This is a lovely peachy colour, which should suit most skin tones and it has a very subtle shimmer, which is perfect. I find some blushers have too much shimmer in them and I end up looking like a glitterball but this is a very natural coverage and it blends so well too, Another lovely addition to my makeup stash!


Item number 3 was the brand I have been wanting to try for a while, and I am so pleased I finally get to! Beauty Bakerie Valentines Flour Powder (RRP £ 9). First of all- how cute is the quirky packaging? I absolutely love it! A simple dusting of this is enough to set and perfect any look. It helps to keep makeup in place all day and gives your skin a smooth and airbrushed finish. It is finely milled and helps to combat shine and oil whilst also minimising the appearance of pores to give you matte results. I have only recently started using setting powder (I know, I am behind the times!) but I honestly don't know what I did without it! You don't need a lot of this for it to work, a little really does go a long way and it definitely helped my makeup to stick around. I don't particularly have oily skin but certain products can sometimes cause a bit of shine- there was none of that with this. It definitely does what it says on the tin!


So, that is all of the makeup offerings, so what about our hair and skin? Those are covered too! Item 4 was a brand I actually hadn't come across before so I was really happy to be introduced! Foamie Coconut Shampoo Bar (RRP £6.99). This contains wheat proteins and coconut for strong, supple hair and additional shine. This also leaves the hair scented like exotic coconut all day thanks to the cold pressed formulation. It has a rope through it for hanging in the shower and the size is huge, so it will last a while. I cannot tell you how amazing this smells, it instantly transported me to a tropical beach somewhere. I have to say that I haven't had much luck with shampoo bars in the past- my hair just doesn't seem to like them- but I am always happy to try others. Maybe this will be my holy grail!


Onto skin now and a brand I absolutely love! The Salt Parlour Rose Salt Scrub- Calm (RRP £6.50). This is a mini tin and it came with a little wooden spoon so you can get the exact amount needed! It is blended with mineral rich dead sea salt, pink himalayan salt and rose oil to calm and soothe the skin. It is especially beneficial for irritated or mature skin and with the addition of fragrant air dried organic rose petals, it leaves you feeling relaxed and free of tension! I love these little salt scrubs, I have tried a few of the others in the range but not this one, so I am happy to be introduced. It has a delicate rose scent and also contains shea butter (one of my favourite skincare ingredients) to deeply moisturise. I just love this and I am so happy to have another scrub from this brand to try!


Finally, and as a tasty little bonus, this months box also came with an edible treat in the form of PLAYin Choc Justchoc M.LK (RRP £1.69). This chocolate is absolutely delicious, it is so smooth and you cannot tell that it is vegan (full disclosure- I am not vegan, however I do try and make ethical choices as much as possible). The brand is also proudly zero waste, with plastic free, 100% recyclable packaging. The little chocolate squares inside (there were 3) are also wrapped in a plant based compostable film. Good for the environment, for the animals and for my taste buds- absolute winner!


A quick totting up of the products gives me a total RRP of £55.18, making the saving a huge £35.18 (or £39.18 as I managed to score a discount code).


Every edit I have received from The Pip Box, I have absolutely loved, Their ethics of only ever featuring cruelty free brands is one of the reasons I will keep going back to them and I also love that they have featured a few self care tips in their little product booklet this month too- we could all use some self care right now! When you see the items included- some pretty well known brands (hello Lime Crime!) as well as some up and coming brands, the price you pay is an absolute bargain for the saving you are making. I cannot wait to see what they have in store in future edits- I may have to hide my bank card!





Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page